<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>The Marketing ROI Blog &#187; SEO ROI</title>
	<atom:link href="http://marketingroiblog.com/category/seo-roi/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://marketingroiblog.com</link>
	<description></description>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 03 Jun 2010 04:15:47 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.9.2</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>ROI of Optimizing Press Releases</title>
		<link>http://marketingroiblog.com/2009/08/02/roi-of-optimizing-press-releases/</link>
		<comments>http://marketingroiblog.com/2009/08/02/roi-of-optimizing-press-releases/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 02 Aug 2009 14:17:57 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>admin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[SEO ROI]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://marketingroiblog.com/?p=22</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I did some research the other day to find case studies of optimizing press releases for SEO and the ROI that came from them. I thought it would be appropriate to reward the most relevant post that came up in my Google search even though the article was a year old.  It&#8217;s only fair given [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I did some research the other day to find case studies of optimizing press releases for SEO and the ROI that came from them. I thought it would be appropriate to reward the most relevant post that came up in my Google search even though the article was a year old.  It&#8217;s only fair given the topic, right?</p>
<p>I found this post from last year&#8217;s PRSA conference at the <a href="http://http://www.toprankblog.com/2008/10/prsa-2008-press-release-roi/" target="_blank">Top Rank Online Marketing Blog</a>. Here are a couple of good examples of how applying best practices for optimizing press releases for search pays off:</p>
<blockquote><p><a href="http://www.symmetricom.com/">Symettricom</a>, a developer of extremely niche technology chips, optimized a release around an admittedly unpopular, but extremely relevant keyword with a corresponding link to a form page.  Predictably, only 8 inquiries were seen.  Unpredictably, one of these leads accounted for $200 million. (Author addendum: This also speaks to the importance of not neglecting the long tail of search.)</p>
<p><a href="http://www.southwest.com/" target="_blank">Southwest Airlines</a> had previously only optimized releases around corporate nickname “Southwest”.  Upon optimizing for “Southwest Airlines”, and implementing tracking pages, they were able to account for approximately 2.5 million in ticket sales.</p></blockquote>
<p>Most press release wire services have SEO optimization built in, but it still pays to know <a href="http://http://www.toprankblog.com/2009/05/press-release-optimization-tips/" target="_blank">press release SEO fundamentals</a>. MarketWire has great SEO implementation tools built into its interface, and one of hte benefits is that it posts your release onine permanently in a library.</p>
<p>For suggested methods of what and how to measure ROI from organic search &#8211; to which press releases contribute -  <a href="A Total Amount of Search Traffic B Total Amount of Converting Search C Conversion Rate from Search C Life Time Value of a Conversion (is it CPA or LTV) D Converting Terms (focus on these)  Determine total Search Traffic = 1000 Determine the Converting Search Ratio: B/A (10/100) = 0.10 Use the Total Converting Search Numbers = 100 Determine the value of the Conversion: C = $200  Read more: http://dannedelko.com/seo/seo-roi.html#ixzz0N2HghRLb">Dan Nedelko</a> has the following suggested metrics and ROI calculations:</p>
<blockquote><p><em>A Total Amount of <strong>Search Traffic </strong><br />
B Total Amount of <strong>Converting Search </strong><br />
C Conversion Rate from Search<br />
C<strong> Life Time Value</strong> of a Conversion (is it CPA or LTV)<br />
D Converting Terms (focus on these)</em></p>
<p><em>Determine total Search Traffic = 1000<br />
Determine the Converting Search Ratio: B/A (10/100) = 0.10<br />
Use the Total Converting Search Numbers = 100<br />
Determine the value of the Conversion:  C = $200</em></p></blockquote>
<p>Planning out your goals before optimizing your releases will help you determine how successful your optimized press releases meet your campaign&#8217;s marketing goals.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://marketingroiblog.com/2009/08/02/roi-of-optimizing-press-releases/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

